Icy, Dragontouched and thinking about what I want in the end

I’m level 16 and one quest short of flagging for shroud.  This morning someone pulled and I rolled and won a Icy Raiment -( (Robe) Dodge Bonus +4, Protection +4, Resistance +3).

Meanwhile I’ve been strongly considering flagging for SoS and get a dragontouched started. So I spent some time figuring out what the max AC is that I can pull together and what the concessions will be; such as will I have to give up a pivotal item to get max AC and picking one over the other is there a specific trade off where a couple of points of AC gives me something better.

As it turns out the Icy Raiment can be a better AC choice compared to a dragontouched (given that I put the right runes on it).

AC works as follow (http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?t=30186)

Base of 10

Sources of Armor Bonus (the armor bonus part of your armor or something like bracers of Armor)

The DT have a AB of 8 – +1 with the AC ritual (and you can do the same with the Icy. You can find (on rare occassions) Bracers of Armor +8 – right now I have a +6. The trade off is that I have to get rid of my chaosgarde (+2 stacking Dodge bonus)

So that’s the DT’s +9 to the Icy’s +7 now and potentially +9 later

Sources of Natural Armor Bonus

There are items that provide natural armor bonus but rangers always have the trusty bark skin

+5

Sources of Shield Bonus

Tempest III offer +4 Shield bonus (I have +3 right now and tempest II)

Sources of Deflection Bonus

That would be either shield of faith or something like a protection item; I have a +4 now but will eventually have +5.

Sources of Dodge Bonus (Dodge bonuses Stack)

This one can be confusing – chattering ring and other +3 Dodge bonuses doesn’t stack but all others do.

Icy have +4 in Dodge and you can add +3 as a rune to the DT.

Insight Bonus

Some specific items including parrying and insight that you add to GS weapons, I’m considering adding +4 as tier 3 to one weapon.

Misc Bonuses (Misc bonuses stack)

Dex Bonus. It’s capped at 7 on a DT (leather armor – light) and I currently have 7. One more point and I have 8 and with a +2 Exc. Dex on say a ToD ring adds another point. So a potential (and realistic) 9 for the Icy and 7 (still since armor caps Dex) for DT.

Right now a DT armor (not counting the potential of adding a +3 Dodge rune anytime soon) would give my ranger a AC of 40 (Base 10, armor +8, AC ritual +1, Bark Skin +5, Tempest II +3, Protection +4, Chaosgarde +2 and Dex +7).

Icy would give me 40 (Base 10, armor +6, AC ritual +1, Bark Skin +5, Tempest II +3, Protection +4, Dodge +4 and Dex +7).

Max additions would give me DT 49 (Base 10, armor +8, AC ritual +1, Bark Skin +5, Tempest II +4, Protection +5, Chaosgarde +2, Dodge +3 rune, insight +4 from GS weapon and Dex +7)

Icy would give me 50 (Base 10, armor +8, AC ritual +1, Bark Skin +5, Tempest II +4, Protection +5, Dodge +4, insight +4 and Dex +9)

That’s one point of different, icy raiment also provide a +3 resistance bonus. With DT you can have 2 additional runes adding additional beneficial effects. So for that one point of AC the long term AC gain using icy raiment isn’t all that important. It’s clear it’s going to be very useful until I have an fully decked out DT but the long term benefit of DT lies in the other 2 runes, adding longevity and the edge over the Icy.

Plus the truth is like I explained a post ago that the AC deficit and the BAB critter inflation renders AC relatively useless late game.

One thought on “Icy, Dragontouched and thinking about what I want in the end

Leave a Reply

