Bastion with a vengeance

I don’t like Amrath quests sometimes; it’s either a quick romp through corridors, ambushed by leagues of devil hordes or it’s a corridor by corridor slog until death – lost, backtracking ‘what now?’ kind of thing.

It’s easy to persevere when you’re a fighter. You either live or die – it’s harder as a healer. You have to heal and when the waters runs dry – you suck pots.

This time I played my ranger. It’s something to say about the diversity of multi-arrow and tempest 2 weapon fighting. I just wish I had a straight earth and mineral II Khopesh already to make life easier. And while I’m at it – lightning II bow. And that’s why I run Amrath quests – for the remote chance of large (read scales) mats. So I can get the party started. Ironically – so when I run these quests again it’s even easier. Yeah – it’s that strange.

In the end I blew 30-40 serious pots – died a few times and multi-arrowed two gel cubes while me and a barb tried to locate this far off lost dead paladin. About the same time as the healer and the bard decided that enough was enough.  While I didn’t pull a blood or a mat I finished. And got some basic random loot for 2 hours worth of bone grinding pain. But you know what? It was kind of fun. Fun that every corner had some real danger. Instead of the regular ‘you heal I slay’ kind of run through rooms.

One thought on “Bastion with a vengeance

Leave a Reply

