The Cult of Elite streak

Hi, my name is ‘fill in online ID’ and this is my last day as a on the elite streak bandwagon cult.
Whatever happened to us?
A while back we didn’t have guild ships and now it’s almost second nature. Not that I consider saving spell casters SP and it’s nice to have 1 hour buffs a cult, but sometimes its borderline silly how we feel forced or compelled to go re-buff.
Especially if we happen to have the kind of class that can buff itself. I’m not saying you shouldn’t, but I have to ask the same people how they managed before guild buffs if their impulse is always to fret over it.

But perhaps the most naked realization that I’ve fallen into another pattern must do cultism is the preservation of the vaunted elite streak.
This is all good and true all the way till level 10. Even if you TR once (or especially if you have TR’d). It’s easy enough to get there soloing with good gear and some level clarity. But after level 10 things get a little more dicey. So for days now I have stunted my own progress by waiting for the ‘right group’. In this case anyone running gianthold on at least Elite. Why I don’t know. I know that I can do most of them on hard or normal – but somehow I have this elite streak and the idea of losing 50% XP (the first time) somehow makes me hold back leveling.
It never used too. The first time I TR’d was with my Favored Soul. I did everything possible to get to level 20 and that was back when there was no guild buffs or ‘elite’ streak and that was when you got 50% bonus for doing it on elite.
Today you get 80%. And 40 for hard. So why am I not running everything on hard or normal?
Heck if I know. Come to think of it; I’m going to re-buff and check if there’s not a single quest more that I can pull off on elite and at least eke out a little bit more ‘elite’ streak.

3 thoughts on “The Cult of Elite streak

  1. kinggartk

    For the record….I have my lvl 14 TR fighter running the hard Bravery Bonus Streak…that way I can run each quest twice and it is easier to find a group running hard. I know I don’t quite get the same bonus as elite, but it is still pretty good to follow up a hard run with very nice XP with a first time one elite run with still very nice XP.

    I don’t know if I’m most efficient that way, but I am a bit more relaxed.

    Reply
  2. patang01

    I hear you; I got lucky and ran famine on Elite, hard and Normal today – netting almost 30k, so it wasn’t a total waste.

    But I think I’m going to settle for hard and normal runs from now on and Elite whenever I find the group. I want to get to 15 so I can put on some gear and do all the challenges and get those level 16 and 20 gear done for my arti.

    Reply
  3. Isharah

    *guilty*

    For me it’s like when you feel the need to get all those spells on your Wiz, even the ones you know you’ll never use. MUST… RUN… ELITE! Silly OCD. Lol. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

