Holy wow

I don’t why I did it, but I kind of wanted to see how much I could get out of running a level 12 quest on elite. I’m talking about the Lordmarch ones – my favorites btw. So I’m doing the first one and check how much I’m going to get (and that’s before any bonuses like conquest) and it was 9k. Here I am – level 17 – and I’m not getting the streak bonus (since you don’t get it for anything 3 levels above the quest) and it sat nicely at 9k.

It’s hard to say no to that kind of XP. Although the final quest might get somewhat hairy and the Minotaur one can get a little much. Especially with the kind of SP a wiz drags around. I tell you what tho – it’s very differen’t. At 17 a sorc has two spells it can load up with Empower, Maximize, heighten and quicken. It hurts. At 18 you have the acid blast.
As a wiz I feel that a lot of potency is ‘lost’ due to the archmage stuff. Plus I haven’t really figured out what type of spells I should concentrate on yet (DPS wise that is). I’m doing impulse but force based ones are kinda puny. Plus I’m splitting my elemental powers between acid, force and fire. And I’m definately going to ditch fire for something like cold or lightning. Seems like a better fit anyways.

I do see a lot of casters using web/hold and acid rain. The question I’m facing now is how much to put on force – maybe make it a secondary power then acid or lightning primary?

The nice part is that I can still experiment. I can so easily switch spells that the slow part is to switch enhancements around. I definately do not have to put anything on construct since without anything added and the Ring of Master I’m fixing myself up for around 200 HP at the time.

I am impressed by the flexibility and the amount of spells a wiz can load in. And as long as I manage to get my DC up there most of the stuff will take effect. I have a feeling however that I’m about to go hard streak only. I really don’t think I can solo most of the upper end stuff on elite. Probably because my build isn’t optimal yet and we’ll see when I do a little bit more experimenting.

One thought on “Holy wow

Leave a Reply

